Bliss

“What do you want to be when you grow up?” For me, the answer to that question was always, “I want to be a teacher.”

One Christmas the only thing I asked of Santa was a chalkboard, chalk, and an eraser. With those gifts I played school. Oh how I played school! I had to be the teacher, of course, and when my friends tired of the game, I would set my dolls on the stairs and I would teach them. My dolls never grew bored. My dolls always showed bright eyes and bright smiles.

All of my students over the years have not exactly been “dolls,” of course. But what fun would that have been anyway? After I retired my non-teacher friends would ask me if I missed teaching. I did. I also missed laughing every day. I hope that all of you find joy and laughter in what you do in your life’s work.

3 thoughts on “Bliss

  1. What a fun memory! I think we all had those moments growing up as the teacher. Times have changed and you are right, we don’t work right beside “dolls” all day long. But it’s worth it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Growing up it was always my sister who wanted to play school and be the teacher. She is a teacher now, so is my brother, and so am I. Though every year I have challenging students, on my best days, it is like play – fun, engaging activities for a roomful of happy children.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

