Quinn “The Mighty”

My grandson, Quinn, is celebrating his birthday in two weeks. Here is the poem I wrote for him last year. I’m beginning his new poem today. I wrote about this tradition in an earlier post. I know this is cheating; I wrote this poem a year ago, but I am using it for inspiration. Last year my husband and I were on call to collect Quinn from school when neither parent could  without shuffling a million things. We were happy to do it, of course, but the big pay off came when Quinn would see us. He was always so thrilled we were there!

I patterned the poem after the introduction to the old TV series “Superman.” Anyone out there remember the spiel? (Faster than a speeding bullet, more powerful than a locomotive, able to leap tall buildings in a single bound. “Look up in the air. It’s a bird, it’s a plane. It’s Superman. Superman, who can change to course of mighty rivers, bend steel in his bare hands, and who, disguised as Clark Kent, a mild mannered reporter for a great metropolitan newspaper, fights a never-ending battle for truth, justice, and the American Way!”

Quinn’s Uncle Brian calls him “The Mighty Quinn,” after the song of the same name. So, I used that title.

Quinn “The Mighty”

Faster than a speeding bullet:

The mighty Quinn

Bursts through the school doors,

Yelling, “Pop-Pop, Pop-Pop

I’m glad you’re here!”

More Powerful than a locomotive:

The Mighty Quinn

Pushes his way into our hearts

Spouting witticisms, questioning,

Listening, being himself.

Able to leap short Mom-Moms in a single bound:

The Mighty Quinn

Jumps into my arms

To greet me with hugs and kisses

Every time I come to visit.

Quinn, Who can change a gloomy day

Into a bright one.

Quinn, Who can invent rules for

Any game he’s playing,

And who, disguised as a First-grader,

Is a never-ending source of joy to all of us.

Happy Birthday.

Love, Mom-Mom

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Quinn “The Mighty”

  1. This poem is so wonderful, Diane! I love this tradition of writing poems to your grandchildren. It is such a great gift – ones they have probably saved over the years and will forever treasure. The use of the Superman structure here is so perfect! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I adore two things about your post! First, the way you weaved the Superman introduction into the poem, and second that you connected the poem to your grandson. Nice slice!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

