I didn’t start it!

 

In one of my other posts (Love extravagantly) I expressed sorrow about how much anger there is out there. I almost became one of those “angry” ranters last Wednesday morning, the day after the PA Primary election.

I was in the gym, minding my own business, peddling a stationary, recumbent bike. Another patron was on the bike next to me when a portly gentleman approached him.

“Did you vote today?” he asked.

“Yeah. I went in before I came here.”

“I’m for Trump. He tells it like it is.”

“I don’t think he can win the general, though.”
“Are you kidding? He can beat that fat pig Hillary. No way would I vote for her!”

That fat pig, Hillary. My instinct was to turn to him and ask, “Do you own a mirror?” But I didn’t. My mother trained me better than that. Anger begets anger. Nothing good comes from answering an insult with an insult of your own.

Instead, I concentrated on the book I was reading and tried to ignore the ensuing conversation. But the comment nagged at me. Whether one supports a candidate or not, one’s reasons should center around the issues and the candidate’s stands on the issues.

I have yet to hear a commentator talk about what a male candidate is wearing or how the male candidate laughs or whether or not he’s overweight.

I stewed about the fat pig comment for many minutes afterward. In fact, I had a better work out because of it. I peddled harder and faster, imagining that the peddles were Mr. Portly’s face. Sorry, I know that’s not nice, Ma. But I didn’t start a row. That’s something anyway.

9 thoughts on “I didn’t start it!

  1. It’s so hard to hold your tongue when you hear comments like that! You are right – support or non-support of candidates should rely on issues. But having said that, I just have to add that with a comment like that, it’s no wonder where that guy is throwing his support.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve been watching your election from the safe distance of Canada. I don’t get to vote, but I’m still conflicted by strange animosity towards Clinton. You have articulated some of it here, but I also see a blaming her for all the work she has put in trying to change the system from within. We wish you, our neighbours, all the best.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love the way your mother’s words echoed in your ears. My mother always told me that if you have nothing nice to say, you say nothing at all. Bravo to you for holding back! And I’m glad you had a good workout!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

