Grandmother joy

Two weekends in a row I have spent with my granddaughters. The first one with the 14 year-old whose birthday present was a weekend in New York with Mom-Mom. She especially wanted to go the Met to see the Egypt exhibit. We also walked through Central Park, lunched at Shun Lee West, and reveled in the tourist traps on Times Square. We talked and laughed, and Gracie learned how to hail a cab. It was delightful.

This weekend my older granddaughter, Maddie, graduated from high school. Saturday was her day! As the center of all of our attention, she accepted her diploma, along with an award for excellence in biology. We watched through misty eyes as she marched out of the arena, onward towards the future. It was delicious.

I have written before about the privilege of being a grandparent. Recently I read Anne Tyler’s A Spool of Blue Thread and found this description of grandmotherly love: “She loved them so much that she felt a kind of hollowness on the inner surface of her arms whenever she looked at them- an ache of longing to pull them close and hold them tight against her.” That line resonates with me. Being a grandparent is delightful, delicious, and best of all “delovely.”

I will not be posting the next two weeks as we travel out West touring National Parks. I’m bringing only my phone and a journal! Happy writing, everyone! Welcome summer.
 

12 thoughts on “Grandmother joy

  1. Your Slice gave me chills. How wonderful that you and your grandchildren have such a connection. I love the Anne Tyler quote. And the trip to NYC sounds like one that created memories that will last a lifetime.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Such a wonderful time you had with your grand girls! It’s so nice that you were able to visit NYC and attend the graduation. Safe travels and enjoy your trip. When you return, I look forward to reading about some of the highlights.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. A great vacation awaits you, Diane. If you have never been, you are in for a real treat. If you have already, the second time around will be even sweeter. Any grandkids going along?

    Like

  4. What a fun grandmother you are! My grandmother was too old (and didn’t drive) to take me on special trips — just the two of us. How much fun that your grand girls get to do this with you!

    BTW: I adore Shun Lee!

    Like

    1. Shun Lee is our “go to” place on the West Side. I didn’t have grandparents, only a grandmother who was the meanest woman on the planet! I wanted to be the grandparent my mom was. I’m having a great time. Your relationship with your bright and beautiful daughter promises a delightful future in grandparent hood.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. What wonderful memories you are creating, Diane! Have a delightful, delicious, and delivery trip! Looking forward to hearing all about it when you get back. Also- although I love the Anne Tyler quote, that particular novel was not one of my favorites of hers. I remember almost abandoning it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

